On this page
India may allow UPI MDR on payments above Rs 2,000, reshaping merchant economics
Parliament removed the ban on charging merchants for UPI acceptance, enabling a possible MDR on large payments. Any fee is expected to spare small-ticket retail transactions, while NPCI’s December 2026 app-share cap creates pressure for PhonePe and Google Pay.
One email each morning: the day’s top moves in Indian retail, why each matters and what to watch. Free. Stop any time.
Channel facts
Figures from Business Today,
| Potential MDR of 0.3%-0.5% for merchants on UPI payments above | Rs 2,000 |
|---|---|
| Average merchant UPI payment: | Rs 606 in July 2026 |
| 14.97 billion UPI transactions in July | 2026 |
| Merchant UPI value: | Rs 98.08 lakh crore in the year to July 2026 |
| Hypothetical 0.3% fee on all merchant UPI value: | about Rs 29,400 crore |
| PhonePe UPI share: | 46.2% |
| Google Pay UPI share: | 32.5% |
| NPCI app market-share cap: | 30% |
What it means for online and offline
Payments incumbents, banks, and retail-tech buyers should evaluate partnerships or acquisitions that strengthen merchant acquiring and value-added services as higher-value UPI acceptance becomes monetizable.
Signals to track
- Final notification specifying transaction threshold, MDR rate, merchant categories, effective date and whether fees apply to P2M only.
- Rules on merchant surcharging, cash discounts, receipt disclosure and consumer protection.
- Whether MDR is borne by merchants, consumers, banks, PSPs or subsidized partly by government.
- NPCI guidance and enforcement milestones ahead of the December 2026 third-party app market-share cap deadline.
- Merchant association responses, especially from organized retail, ecommerce, travel, healthcare and electronics sellers.
Show 2 more
- Changes in UPI average ticket size, high-value transaction growth and payment-method mix at large merchants.
- PSP pricing announcements for gateway, settlement, loyalty, credit-on-UPI and merchant analytics products.
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- Segment UPI payment data by order value, category, channel and store format to quantify exposure above Rs 2,000.
- Model margin impact at 0.3%, 0.4% and 0.5% MDR, including the effect of GST and potential payment-gateway pass-through.
- Review checkout, POS and invoicing capabilities for compliant payment-method messaging, tender steering and surcharge handling if permitted.
- Renegotiate acquiring and PSP contracts to separate MDR, gateway fees, settlement terms, fraud tools and value-added-service charges.
- Test high-ticket incentives for debit cards, account-to-account bank transfer, EMI, retailer financing and closed-loop wallets without degrading UPI conversion.
Show 1 more
- Prepare for PSP concentration changes as PhonePe and Google Pay respond to NPCI market-share-cap requirements through user migration, partnership and routing strategies.
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
The commercial impact may be overstated. A parliamentary change that permits merchant discount rates does not guarantee that the government, RBI, or NPCI will impose a 0.3%-0.5% fee, nor that banks and payment apps will pass it through uniformly. Political resistance is likely if MDR is perceived as taxing a mass-adopted public digital-payments rail. Even if introduced, a Rs 2,000 threshold may exempt much of everyday retail volume, while merchants could steer larger purchases to cards, bank transfers, cash, or negotiate enterprise pricing. Payment apps may capture less of the economics than assumed because issuer banks, acquirers, and network infrastructure providers would also seek a share.
The source
Published
First seen