On this page
Ola Electric cuts Shakti Gen2 home inverter prices by up to ₹25,000 in introductory offer
Our read
Ola’s launch discount can win attention and early reservations, but the durable retail outcome will depend on whether it converts its EV-brand awareness into trusted local installation and after-sales service before incumbents neutralize the price gap.
For operators
Ola’s aggressive introductory pricing for Shakti Gen2 could accelerate residential storage demand, pressuring inverter and battery rivals to sharpen financing, installation, and service propositions.
Watch
Reservation-to-delivery conversion rates after the ₹999 booking period.
The report,
Ola Electric is offering limited-time introductory discounts on its residential Ola Shakti Gen2 lithium-ion home inverter, reducing prices to ₹99,999 and ₹1,74,999 after a ₹999 reservation. The launch extends Ola into India’s battery energy storage market.
One email each morning: the day’s top moves in Indian retail, why each matters and what to watch. Free. Stop any time.
Reported figures
From the report. Source details below
| ₹1,19,999 listed price for | 3 kWh variant |
|---|---|
| ₹20,000 discount; | ₹99,999 discounted price |
Also in the report
- ₹1,99,999 listed price for second variant
- Estimated 8-year product lifespan
- ₹1 lakh crore Indian BESS market
Other figures
- 3 kW and 6 kW capacities
Why it matters for the brand
Ola’s home-storage push creates partnership opportunities across solar installers, EPCs, battery suppliers, and energy-management software as it builds a residential distributed-energy ecosystem.
What to track next
- Final usable battery capacity, backup duration, warranty terms, cycle-life claims and installation charges.
- Availability of EMI offers, solar compatibility and bundled rooftop-solar partnerships.
- Geographic rollout of authorized installation and service coverage.
- Price cuts, exchange schemes or lithium-ion launches from Luminous, Livguard, Exide, Amara Raja, Microtek and solar-storage providers.
- Customer reports on installation time, app performance, outage backup and warranty claim resolution.
Show 1 more
- Policy changes affecting rooftop solar, residential storage subsidies, net metering or lithium-ion battery economics.
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- Build a certified installer and service-partner network in priority outage-prone and high rooftop-solar markets.
- Offer EMI, solar integration and extended-warranty packages to reduce the upfront-cost barrier beyond the launch discount.
- Use reservation data to target EV owners and households with high electricity bills, frequent outages or rooftop solar installations.
- Introduce app-based energy monitoring and potential future integration with Ola EV charging to differentiate beyond battery backup.
- Expand through electrician, inverter dealer and solar EPC partnerships while tightly controlling installation and warranty standards.
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
The introductory pricing may be more marketing than durable demand creation: a ₹999 reservation lowers headline friction but does not address the much larger installed-system cost, financing needs, electrician/installer availability, battery replacement risk, or uncertain payback versus conventional inverters and lead-acid batteries. Ola’s move beyond EVs also introduces execution risk in a category where after-sales service, warranty fulfillment, safety certification, and local installation support matter more than launch discounts. The offer could compress margins without proving that Ola can build a scalable residential-energy business.
The source
First seen