Read the counter-case
On this page

BMW reveals iX4 electric SUV coupe with up to 680 km range; iX4 50 xDrive launches March 2027

BMW's iX4 is powered by a 112.2 kWh battery, and the 680 km range is a preliminary estimate. BMW has announced no India launch or price; the only price given is C$79,900 for Canada.

07:30 IST · 10 moves · what each means · free

The numbers

Figures from Times Now Auto

Peak DC charging power: up to 400 kW
Range added in 10 minutes: 296 km
DC charging time 10 to 80%: 21 minutes
Standard AC charging: up to 15.4 kW

Why it matters for the brand

With up to 400 kW peak charging and a 112.2 kWh battery, the iX4 raises the spec bar for luxury EV rivals, but BMW has given no India timing or pricing, so any India competitive response or partnership planning is premature.

What to track next

  • A BMW India press release or dealer teaser naming an iX4 launch date or price
  • First Canadian deliveries of the iX4 50 xDrive in March 2027 and any change to the C$79,900 starting price
  • Official range figures confirmed by regulators, set against the 680 km estimate
  • Rival premium EV makers announcing competing models or price cuts that cite range or charging speed
  • Announcements of 400 kW-capable charging sites in target markets, India included

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • BMW is likely to publish more market-by-market pricing and trim details ahead of the March 2027 launch of the iX4 50 xDrive, extending beyond the C$79,900 Canadian starting price.
  • BMW's India arm may keep answering iX4 questions with a non-committal line until it has a pricing and homologation plan, since no India date or price has been announced.
  • Rival premium EV makers are likely to stress their own range and charging-speed figures against the iX4's 680 km estimate and 21-minute 10 to 80% charge time.
  • Canadian buyers and dealers are likely to start taking orders and deposits for the iX4 50 xDrive, so early demand at C$79,900 will show how the pricing is received.
  • BMW is likely to add further iX4 variants beyond the dual-motor 50 xDrive, as it usually widens a range after the launch model.

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

This is a global product reveal with no direct India retail consequence. The headline numbers are all best-case: 'up to' 680 km is an estimate, and the signal does not say which test cycle it uses. Cycle-based ranges usually overstate real-world highway range, and Indian ARAI or MIDC-style figures would differ again. The 400 kW peak charging and the '296 km in 10 minutes' claim need a high-power charger that is rarely available in India. The 10 to 80% in 21 minutes figure applies only under ideal conditions (battery temperature, state of charge). The only price is C$79,900 for the dual-motor 50 xDrive in Canada, and the signal gives no India price, import route or timeline. The March 2027 launch is also more than a year away, so specifications, pricing and trims could change before any market sees the car. For an Indian retail-intelligence audience this is a spec sheet for a car that may never be sold or locally assembled in India, and it is not a market signal.

The source

Source Read the source at Times Now Auto

Filed

First seen