DMart approves up to ₹500 crore for DMart Ready operator Avenue E-Commerce

Our read

DMart Ready will shift from expansion-led online grocery growth toward core-city density and retention, improving strategic relevance before achieving full profitability.

For operators

DMart Ready’s ₹500 crore infusion funds fulfilment-led growth, but the pivot to 11 core cities signals that tighter unit economics now matter as much as reach.

Watch

Quarterly revenue growth versus loss growth at Avenue E-Commerce, especially whether losses begin growing slower than sales.

Ask next

What else has DMart done in the last three months?

The report,

Avenue Supermarts approved up to Rs 500 crore for DMart Ready operator Avenue E-Commerce, despite widening FY26 losses. The online grocery unit expanded delivery across 18 cities and added eight fulfilment centres, while concentrating profitability efforts on 11 core cities.

Newer report , , Financial Express : DMart Ready retreats to 11 cities as quick commerce reshapes grocery economics

  • Banaraswala: 3 → 50 outlets by March 2027
  • Nestle India: Sales +20.5% · Profit +36.3%

Channel facts

From the report. Source details below

  • Nearly Rs 2,000 crore total potential capital invested in AEL
  • Rs 350 crore invested during FY26
  • FY26 revenue Rs 4,094 crore, up 17% from Rs 3,502 crore in FY25
  • FY26 loss Rs 307 crore versus Rs 247 crore in FY25

What it means for online and offline

DMart is choosing internal investment over external acquisition to build omnichannel capability, using a concentrated-city model to improve the strategic economics of its online grocery network.

Signals to track

  • Revenue per fulfilment centre, order density and evidence of improving contribution margin in the 11 priority cities.
  • Any pause in expansion beyond 18 cities or closure/consolidation of low-density service areas.
  • Changes in delivery fees, minimum-order thresholds, promised delivery times or promotional intensity.
  • Growth in private-label share and average basket value on DMart Ready.
  • Competitive response from Blinkit, Zepto, Swiggy Instamart, BigBasket and JioMart in DMart’s strongest urban markets.
Show 1 more
  • Parent-company commentary on capital-allocation limits, breakeven targets and whether further funding is required.

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • Prioritize assortment depth, delivery-slot availability and repeat purchasing in the 11 core cities rather than broadening city coverage rapidly.
  • Use new fulfilment centres to create denser local delivery radii and lower last-mile cost per order.
  • Tighten customer-acquisition spending, shifting toward DMart-linked loyalty, targeted reactivation and higher-basket replenishment missions.
  • Expand private-label and high-margin packaged-grocery mix online to improve gross margin without abandoning DMart’s value positioning.
  • Test selective faster-delivery propositions in dense neighbourhoods, while avoiding a full subsidy-led quick-commerce model.
Show 1 more
  • Integrate store, warehouse and online inventory more tightly to reduce stock-outs and working-capital duplication.

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

The ₹500 crore infusion may be less a growth endorsement than a subsidy to sustain an online grocery model whose losses are widening despite meaningful scale. FY26 revenue growth of 17% to ₹4,094 crore is modest relative to the capital intensity of adding cities and fulfilment centres, while the ₹307 crore loss implies that delivery, picking and customer-acquisition economics remain unresolved. Narrowing focus to 11 core cities could signal discipline, but it could also amount to retrenchment after expansion to 18 cities failed to produce scalable profitability. DMart’s store-led cost advantage does not automatically translate to profitable last-mile grocery delivery, where quick-commerce and incumbent platforms can force persistent discounting and high fulfilment costs.

The source

Source Read the source at ET Retail

Published

Also reported by Outlook Business

First seen