Read the counter-case
On this page

India Post expands Gujarat FPO delivery pilot to seven locations after 40,000-item run

India Post’s Gujarat pilot stores FPO inventory at post offices, processes MyStore/ONDC orders and delivers products directly. Five FPOs have joined, with more than 40,000 items delivered; the model is expanding across seven Gujarat locations and aims to reduce logistics costs.

Newer report , , The Hindu BusinessLine : India Post launches Dak Sewa app for doorstep postal bookings nationwide

07:30 IST · 10 moves · what each means · free

Channel facts

Figures from The Hindu BusinessLine,

426 FPOs registered in Gujarat under the Centre's 10,000 FPO scheme
Ranmal FPC delivered over 30,000 items since January
Orders can be prepared for dispatch within 10-15 minutes
Peak single-day orders reached 5,000
Product pack sizes range from 100g to 1,000g

Also in the report

  • Pilot extended from Ahmedabad to six additional Gujarat locations
  • Five FPOs registered under the plan
  • Ranmal FPC turnover reached about ₹4 crore until July versus nearly ₹7 crore in full FY2025-26

What it means for online and offline

ONDC enablers, commerce platforms and logistics providers should pursue partnerships with India Post and FPO networks before the Gujarat model expands into other high-density agricultural states.

Signals to track

  • Monthly shipment growth after expansion and whether volume materially exceeds the initial 40,000 items run rate.
  • Delivery SLA, failed-delivery and return-to-origin rates versus private courier benchmarks.
  • Evidence that FPOs gain repeat customers and sell beyond their local districts rather than merely shifting existing orders.
  • Pricing disclosures showing whether fulfilment and last-mile costs are covered by seller fees, buyer charges or public support.
  • Expansion from delivery-only activity into inventory storage, pickup consolidation, returns and payment services at post offices.
Show 1 more
  • Replication announcements in other states or integration with additional ONDC buyer and seller applications.

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • India Post is likely to publish service-level metrics from the seven-location rollout, including delivery time, cost per shipment, repeat-order rates and return rates.
  • The programme may add standardized fulfilment services such as barcode labeling, packaging, quality checks, cash-on-delivery handling and reverse logistics for FPO sellers.
  • ONDC-linked seller apps and MyStore are likely to recruit additional FPOs in Gujarat, using post-office fulfilment as a seller-acquisition proposition.
  • If volumes sustain, India Post may extend the model to agricultural clusters in Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Karnataka before pursuing a wider national rollout.
  • State agriculture departments and NABARD-linked entities may support FPO onboarding, warehousing equipment and digital cataloguing to increase viable product assortment.

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

40,000 items over eight months is modest volume for a logistics model being positioned as scalable infrastructure, and expansion to seven locations may reflect a controlled government pilot rather than proven commercial demand. Without evidence on delivery cost, service levels, return rates, FPO margins, repeat-order behavior, and ONDC order share, postal fulfilment could remain subsidy-dependent and operationally difficult to replicate across product categories or states.

The source

Source Read the source at The Hindu BusinessLine

Published

First seen