On this page
UPI hits record 873 million transactions in a day on festive sales, with 0.4% MDR rollout due 15 October
Our read
NPCI will more likely than not defer the 0.4% MDR on payments above ₹2,000 to January 2027, keeping festive UPI volumes near record levels.
For operators
Plan for UPI volumes to stay near 845 million a day through the festive season, and model the cost of a possible 0.4% MDR on payments above Rs 2,000 from 15 October, since a postponement to January 2027 is under consideration but not decided.
Watch
An NPCI notice deferring the 0.4% MDR to January 2027 before 15 October would mean merchants avoid a new cost on ₹2,000+ payments this festive season.
The report
NPCI has yet to decide whether UPI transactions above Rs 2,000 will carry the merchant fee from 15 October, with a postponement to January 2027 under consideration. UPI recorded 873 million on 9 October and 871 million the next day during festive ecommerce sales.
- 9 October873 million
- 10 October871 million
- October average daily volume845 million
- September average daily volume801 million
One email each morning: the day’s top moves in Indian retail, why each matters and what to watch. Free. Stop any time.
Channel facts
From the report. Source details below
| October monthly average daily volume: | 845 million |
|---|---|
| September average daily volume: | 801 million |
| MDR on Rs 10,000 transaction: | Rs 40 |
| Daily average UPI transaction value in October: | Rs 1.1 lakh crore |
| Possible UPI monthly value record: | Rs 30 lakh crore |
What it means for online and offline
With the 0.4% MDR on transactions above Rs 2,000 still undecided and possibly pushed to January 2027, treat payments and checkout partnerships as a scenario-dependent bet, weighing record UPI volumes against the risk of a new merchant cost.
Signals to track
- October daily average UPI volume versus 845M so far and September's 801M
- Any NPCI circular on which transaction values or merchant types the MDR covers
- Merchant or fintech pushback on pricing for payments above ₹2,000
- Daily volumes after the festive sales fade, versus the 873M peak
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- NPCI is likely to announce its MDR decision close to 15 October, with a postponement to January 2027 the more probable outcome.
- Large retailers and e-commerce merchants are likely to lobby against the 0.4% charge on payments above ₹2,000, citing festive-season margin pressure.
- UPI apps and banks may delay any pricing or settlement changes until NPCI issues a final circular.
- Card networks may push cards and wallets for high-value purchases if the MDR takes effect.
- Expect festive-sale payment volumes to stay high through the season, with daily counts staying near the 873M peak.
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
The headline joins two unrelated facts and implies more certainty than the source supports. The record of 873 million transactions is a festive-peak volume print. The 871 million the next day shows two near-identical days at the top, not a new trend. The October daily average of 845 million against 801 million in September compares a month still in progress, and loaded with festive demand, against a full, quieter month. Part of the gain is likely seasonal pull-forward that will fade after the festivals. The MDR claim is weaker still. The headline says the 0.4% MDR is 'due 15 October', but the deck admits NPCI has not decided and is weighing a postponement to January 2027. The more likely outcome is a delay, so the regulatory half of the story may never happen on the stated date. Record volumes are also a weak proxy for omni-channel retail health. UPI counts include person-to-person transfers, bill payments and small-ticket payments, none of which show that retailers are gaining from integrated channels. The 'up' delta framing hides these caveats.
The source
First seen