On this page
Ather launches Konarc e-scooter at ₹99,999 with claimed range of up to 200 km
Our read
Ather's ₹99,999 Konarc will accelerate a value-and-range battle in India's electric-scooter market, but retail success will depend more on credible real-world range, financing and after-sales capacity than on the headline price alone.
For operators
Ather’s ₹99,999 Konarc broadens its mass-market appeal, but operators should watch whether its 100–200 km range claims and new braking system translate into superior conversion, service demand and retention versus Ola’s fresh S1Z launch.
Watch
Ex-showroom versus on-road pricing across states, including charger, registration and insurance costs.
The report,
Ather Energy launched the mass-market Konarc electric scooter at ₹99,999, offering claimed range variants up to 200 km and introducing its Advanced Electronic Braking System. Rival Ola Electric launched its S1Z range a day earlier.
Newer report , , Inc42 : Ather launches ₹99,999 Konarc scooter as shares hit record high
One email each morning: the day’s top moves in Indian retail, why each matters and what to watch. Free. Stop any time.
Reported figures
From the report. Source details below
- 100 km
- 120 km
- 14-inch
- 46-series
Why it matters for the brand
Ather’s mass-market expansion raises the strategic value of partnerships in batteries, charging, financing and after-sales networks that can lower ownership friction and defend share against Ola and other scaled EV entrants.
What to track next
- Independent real-world range tests for each battery variant, especially under city traffic and two-up riding conditions.
- Booking volumes, delivery timelines and trim mix in the first 60-90 days.
- Ola, TVS, Bajaj and Hero Vida responses through discounts, new variants, warranty upgrades or financing schemes.
- Ather service-centre throughput, spare-parts availability and customer reports on brake-system performance.
- Any policy changes affecting EV subsidies, GST treatment, state road-tax exemptions or charging tariffs.
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- Competitors are likely to launch limited-period finance, exchange and accessory bundles in the ₹90,000-₹1.2 lakh band.
- Ather dealerships will likely position Konarc alongside test-ride campaigns, EMI messaging and home-charger installation packages to reduce purchase friction.
- Ather may expand charging-network visibility, service capacity and battery-warranty communication in priority metro and tier-1 markets before pursuing deeper geographic rollout.
- Retailers and marketplaces may see increased demand for helmets, connected accessories, home electrical upgrades and EV insurance add-ons.
- Fleet, delivery and commuter buyers may seek total-cost-of-ownership comparisons, creating an opening for subscription, leasing and battery-protection products.
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
A ₹99,999 entry price may be a headline figure tied to the smallest battery, limited introductory availability, subsidies, or exclusions for registration, insurance, charger and accessories. The 200 km figure is likely a top-end claimed or test-cycle range rather than typical real-world performance, where speed, load, terrain and riding mode can materially reduce usable range. Ather also enters a fiercely price-led segment where Ola, TVS, Bajaj and legacy two-wheeler brands can respond with discounts, financing and broader service reach; a lower-priced model could pressure Ather’s margins without meaningfully expanding its addressable market.
The source
First seen